The Sarona Jacob of Marvadel & Sarona Sam of Marvadel Memorial Field Award Rules

Effective January 1, 2021

  1. Nature of the Award
    1. The CCRCA Field trophy shall be awarded to the Curly-Coated Retriever judged to have been the most outstanding in fieldwork during the preceding calendar year.
    2. The trophy will be awarded at the annual Specialty of the CCRCA

  2. Eligibility
    1. Any Curly-Coated Retriever registered with the American Kennel Club, Canadian Kennel Club, United Kennel Club, or other generally recognized national registry in the United States and whose owner is a member in good standing of the Curly-Coated Retriever Club of America.
    2. The trophy shall be awarded for field accomplishments in the United States and/or by an animal owned in the United States for accomplishment outside the United States (such as in CKC competition).
    3. An animal is eligible to repeat as winner, but only accomplishments during the calendar year in question shall be considered in determining each year's winner.

  3. Nominations
    1. Any person may nominate any eligible animal, including his or her own, for consideration for this award
    2. In an attempt to ensure completeness of coverage, the chair and members of the Field Committee will nominate all animals they know to be eligible who have field accomplishments of note during the year.
    3. Nominations for the award shall be made in writing to the chair of the Field Committee and shall be accompanied by a list of the accomplishments responsible for the animal being nominated.
    4. Nominations shall be in the hands of the Field Committee by January 15.

  4. Responsibilities of the Field Committee Chair
    1. The Field Committee chair shall see that a timely call for nominations is published in the "Curly Commentator".
    2. The chair shall poll the committee membership for nominations
    3. The chair shall seek to verify all reported accomplishments, and in doing so, may ask the nominators, owner, or any others deemed appropriate for evidence verifying the reported accomplishments.
    4. The chair shall forward all information acquired to the secretary of the CCRCA and to the person in charge of the Club's awards by March 1 so that presentation of the award may be made at that year's Specialty. If the Specialty shall be scheduled before March 15, earlier notification shall be given.

  5. Points
    1. The animal earning the highest number of points during the calendar year shall be judged the winner. Points shall be awarded according to the following schedule:
WC* 5 points
WCX* 10 points
WCQ* 15 points
UWC 7.5 points
JH (or Beginning NAHRA or HRC tests), each pass 5 points
NAHRA HR, each pass 7.5 points
SH (or Intermediate NAHRA or HRC tests), each pass 10 points
Advanced NAHRA or HRC tests each pass 15 points
MH, each pass 25 points
JH, SH, or MH (or equivalent NAHRA or HRC) title 10 points
Master National, NAHRA "RAW" or HRC Grand Hunt pass 25 points
Grand Master Hunter (GRMH), Grand Hunting Retriever Champion (GRHRCH) title 30 points
AKC or CKC licensed trial Derby placement or JAM 15 points
AKC or CKC licensed trial Qualifying placement or JAM 15 points

* Points awarded for WC, WCX, WCQ, UWC and UWCX will only be awarded for the highest-level pass. Example: if you enter WC, WCX and WCQ at Curlyville or the National Specialty and pass all three events you will only be able to claim points for the WCQ. If you enter all three events and fail the WCQ you will be awarded points for the WCX.